Benson Sporting Superstars announced

The winners of the coveted RAF Benson Sports Personality of the Year Awards have been announced.

Nominees were honoured to be joined by the Air Officer Commanding No 2 Group, Air Vice-Marshal David Cooper, as well as Paralympic table tennis player Mr Dave Wetherill and former RAF adventurous training instructor and director of High Low, Mr Ali Glendinning, who all presented awards along with the Station Commander.

The Sports Personality of the Year award was presented to Senior Aircraftman Gavin Davies; who is Brazilian Jui Jitsu champion on 3 continents in his weight category and has won an incredible 13 gold medals over the past year.

The Most Valued Person award was presented to Sergeant Jason Roberts; who has contributed significantly to both Service and civilian rugby as a performance analyst coach and was headhunted by Henley Hawks to conduct post-game analysis.

The Best Newcomer award was presented to Senior Aircraftman Olivia Duckworth; who has made a massive impact in the netball, rowing and swimming teams at RAF Benson in such a short space of time.

The Coach of the Year award was presented to Flight Sergeant Al Sharp; who has coached the Clay Pigeon Shooting Team to numerous successes.

The Long Service to Sport award was presented to Senior Aircraftman Lucy Roper; who has spent 25 years at the forefront of open water swimming and has a staggering 18 world records to her name.

The Team of the Year award was presented to the Football Team; which completed the treble, including winning the London League, for the first time in their history this year despite numerous operational deployments for key team members.

Group Captain Hamish Cormack, Station Commander RAF Benson, said:

“Our sports awards are one of the highlights of the year. It is important that we formally recognise the achievements of those who go above and beyond to excel in their chosen sport. Regardless of their role in sport, the teamwork, discipline, professionalism and tenacity required directly transfers to their day jobs. All our award winners should be rightly proud of their fantastic achievements.  Those who did not win but were nominated should also take satisfaction from the fact that someone recognised their dedication and commitment, and therefore took the time and effort to write them up for consideration. Selecting the winners was a tremendously hard choice, and a genuine pleasure not a chore.”